Psalm 143

Psalm 143 has David again reaching out to God in prayer.  “Hear my prayer, O Lord; give ear to my pleas for mercy! In your faithfulness answer me, in your righteousness”!  He reminds us that God is a God of mercy and His love for us.  The truth is that our sins (falling short and missing the mark God has set) are so many and we fall so far from God’s standards that it is only by His mercy we have life.  David also reminds us of God’s faithfulness and the fact that He never leaves and is always available to answer.  But he also calls out God’s righteousness – God is a God that cannot stand sin and evil.

That creates a real problem for every man, woman and child on this planet.  We are sinners plain and simple.  “Enter not into judgment with your servant, for no one living is righteous before you”.  The ground is level at the foot of the cross as we all come before God unrighteous and doomed for an eternity of separation from Him.  At least if we try to achieve it on our own merit.  None of us are righteous and able to pass His judgment on our own merit.  That’s where Jesus comes in – He alone is our source of forgiveness and cleansing.  He alone can set us free from the penalty of sin.

David is worn down.  He has been pursued for a long time and is weary.  “Therefore my spirit faints within me; my heart within me is appalled”.  The enemy wants to defeat us, most of all in the area of our spirit.  Sure we face physical and emotional challenges where we are defeated, but the enemy wins when he robs us of our joy and walk with God.  David knows that is what his enemies want to do – to drive a wedge between himself and God and get David focused on how bad life is.  David shows us four responses to stay connected with God:

  1. I remember the days of old
  2. I meditate on all that you have done
  3. I ponder the work of your hands
  4. I stretch out my hands to you; my soul thirsts for you like a parched land

David runs to God and remembers all that He has done.  He doesn’t give up or give in.  He asks God to reveal Himself and speak to him.  He runs to God for protection.  “Deliver me from my enemies, O Lord! I have fled to you for refuge”!  Although he is still under attack, David asks God to show him clearly what His will is and to help him walk in it.  “Teach me to do your will, for you are my God”!  We cannot win the battle on our own.  Our hope and strength must come from the Lord.  He has the solution.  He knows the situation and is ready to come to our aid.  We simply need to ask!

Leave a comment