Psalm 142

Psalm 142 has David crying out to God as he feels trapped and overwhelmed by the troubles in his life.  He writes this while in a cave, hiding out and fearful for his life.  “With my voice I cry out to the Lord; with my voice I plead for mercy to the Lord. I pour out my complaint before him; I tell my trouble before him”.  David again shows us what to do when we are overcome with fear – we need to run to God.  Look at what he does:

  • I cry out
  • I plead for mercy
  • I pour out my complaint
  • I tell my trouble

David knows He can’t deal with the enemy alone.  So he raises his voice to God.  He doesn’t sit quietly – he literally cries out and allows his soul and spirit to connect with God.  His crying out was a form of supplication, or praying to the Lord humbly asking for grace and mercy.  He brings his requests openly to God.  He relies on God to sustain him.  “When my spirit faints within me, you know my way! In the path where I walk they have hidden a trap for me”.  And he knows they are out to get him, so he asks God to keep him safe from their traps.

When we face trials and tribulations, our spirit too can faint.  We can run out of our own energy, the tank can go dry, and we need to learn to lean on God for that sustenance and strength. He never runs out.  He never fails.  God already knows the battles we face and is there waiting for our cry for help.  But we need to cry out and ask.  “I cry to you, O Lord; I say, You are my refuge, my portion in the land of the living”.  God is our refuge and our strength, an ever present help in times of trouble if we’ll only seek Him.

Life can be overwhelming.  David was king, and a man after God’s heart, yet he experienced a life filled with ups and downs and overwhelming difficulty.  But he always does the same thing – he runs to God for his strength and protection.  And God always responds.  “Attend to my cry, for I am brought very low”!  When things seem overwhelming, that’s when we run to God.  When we feel like we’re down and out and just can’t keep on, that’s when we need to run to God.  When we’re in the pit of life and can’t see out, that’s when we run to God.  God is our refuge and strength.  We need to run to Him!

Leave a Reply

