Archive for August 12th, 2017

John 14

John 14 has Jesus talking with His disciples as He goes to His final day.  “Let not your hearts be troubled. Believe in God; believe also in me. In  my Father’s house are many rooms. If it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you? 3 And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also”.  Here’s Jesus’ game plan.  He came to earth so He could provide a way for us to be set free from our sin, and then went to prepare a place for us as we receive His grace.

Jesus makes it very clear how we can receive eternal life – it’s Him.  And Him only.  “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me”.  This is the problem for many – they want to find eternal life through some other way.  But Jesus is clear – it is Him and Him alone.  There is no plan B.  It is Jesus or nothing.  We have to deal with the reality that eternity will be based on what we do with Jesus.  We’ll stand before God and have to answer to that truth.  Are you ready for that conversation with God?  If not, now is the time to discover Jesus!

Faith in Christ will do more in our life than prepare us for eternity.  “Truly, truly, I say to you, whoever believes in me will also do the works that I do; and greater works than these will he do, because I am going to the Father”.  Being a Christ Follower means we’ll walk in obedience to God’s Word.  Christ will guide our life.  And when He does, we have access to amazing promises and power.  “Whatever you ask in my name, this I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. If you ask me anything in my name, I will do it”.  Ever wonder what power there is in prayer – Jesus makes it clear.  It’s a promise we should hang on to tightly!

But beyond that, Jesus says “If you love me, you will keep my commandments…. Whoever has my commandments and keeps them, he it is who loves me….If anyone loves me, he will keep my word, and my Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him. Whoever does not love me does not keep my words”.  Obedience is the outcome of a relationship with Jesus.  Being a Christ Follower means we no longer live as we wish, but we live as He wishes.  Jesus is our guide.  He sets our course.  Jesus is Lord which means we walk in obedience with Him!

