Archive for August 10th, 2017

John 12

John 12 has Jesus going to Jerusalem for the coming Passover.  He’s just off raising Lazarus from the dead.  “When the large crowd of the Jews learned that Jesus was there, they came, not only on account of him but also to see Lazarus, whom he had raised from the dead. So the chief priests made plans to put Lazarus to death as well, because on account of him many of the Jews were going away and believing in Jesus”. This is a big problem for the religious leaders.  They see their control and power slipping away and want to figure out how to stop Him.

But Jesus is not going to be stopped.  He is moving toward the Cross and knows that His time is short. He tells those who are following that “Whoever loves his life loses it, and whoever hates his life in this world will keep it for eternal life”.  We are called to hate our life not in the sense that we disregard it, but in the sense that we freely give it up for God. Our life is precious to us, especially because it is something we can give to Jesus.  We have to put life in its rightful place in comparison to eternal life.  That has far more value.

If we want to be a Christ Follower, we must act.  “If anyone serves me, he must follow me; and where I am, there will my servant be also.  If anyone serves me, the Father will honor him”.  Being a Christ Follower is not about sitting in the pew on Sunday morning.  It’s about following the Savior.  It doesn’t mean that you stop working your job or caring for your family or studying at school. It means you do all that as a servant of Jesus, a follower of Jesus.  Life is not about me.  It’s about following Jesus and loving those in my patch.  It’s about being a servant and living out servant leadership.

Jesus makes it clear as to why He came to earth.  “I have come into the world as light, so that whoever believes in me may not remain in darkness”.  Faith in Christ is the way we can get out of darkness into the light.  It’s how we can move from being lost, to having the promise of eternal life.  We have a choice to make – what will we do with Jesus.  That choice determines our eternity.  “The one who rejects me and does not receive my words has a judge; the word that I have spoken will judge him on the last day”.  We’ll stand before God someday.  Jesus is our ticket for entry into eternal life!

