Archive for April 5th, 2017

Micah 7

Micah 7 has the prophet confessing the sin of God’s people and defining the state of things.  “Woe is me”!  He is talking about how dismal things are, and how God’s ways have been left behind.  “The godly has perished from the earth, and there is no one upright among mankind”.  Things are bad, and going to get worse.  Sin carries a price and Micah knows what lies ahead.  Yet even in the midst of a very bad situation, Micah knows that God is a God of restoration if His people just figure out what they should do.

He makes the path to restoration clear.  “But as for me, I will look to the Lord; I will wait for the God of my salvation; my God will hear me”.  There was no where else to look as everyone else around him was corrupt and living a life of sin separated from God.  So Micah points to the One who never leaves nor forsakes us, who is always there ready to welcome us back if we’ll only confess and repent of our sin.  God is our only hope, and we need to not only call to Him, but run to Him.  He alone will save us.

Of course, all around are those just waiting for us to fall.  “Rejoice not over me, O  my enemy; when I fall, I shall rise; when I sit in darkness, the Lord will be a light to me”.  Micah speaks for those brought low by personal sin and the sin of the community. Sin takes us down.  It carries a price and separates us from God.  But Micah warns enemies to not rejoice over their condition because the Lord will be a light to me. You see me brought low now, but you should know that it isn’t for long. God will lift me up.

“I will bear the indignation of the Lord because I have sinned against him, until He pleads my cause and executes judgment for me.  He will bring me out to the light; I shall look upon his vindication”.  Speaking for the sinful people, Micah steps up and takes responsibility for their sin. He knows that they have sinned, and so he accepts God’s correction.  Micah knows that God’s people will stay in their low place until He pleads my case and executes justice for me. They are totally abandoned unto God’s care.  That’s our reality.  We are sinners.  We will be judged.  If we have the shed blood of Christ to cover our sins, we’ll be saved.  If not, we’ll face judgment for our sin.  It’s an easy choice – Jesus or eternal separation.  But we have to choose!

