Ezekiel 39

Ezekiel 39 has the prophet continuing to wail about Gog.  God is going to take action against them.  Ezekiel repeats that God was the one who drew out the forces of Gog, his purpose being to destroy them. “I will turn you around, drive you on, take you up from the remotest parts of the north and bring you against the mountains of Israel. I will strike your bow from your left hand and dash down your arrows from your right hand”.  Their dead soldiers lie unburied in the fields, and their cities are in ashes.

The terrible massacre helps people to see how frightening the power of God can be when He acts in holy anger against evil. “My holy name I will make known in the midst of My people Israel; and I will not let My holy name be profaned anymore”.  This was not any group of armed forces that God is destroying.  So great were the armies of Gog in size, that their weapons provide firewood for the people of Israel for the next seven years.  But God is greater, and has a plan to make His glory known.  “And I will set My glory among the nations; and all the nations will see My judgment which I have executed and My hand which I have laid on them”.

What is one of His ultimate goals – that His people may know that He is. “The house of Israel will know that I am the Lord their God from that day onward”.  He is setting a precedent of power and protection for His people.  The destruction of Gog, like the captivity of Israel, shows to people everywhere that God is holy and just in dealing with sin.  He can’t just ignore what’s happening. “According to their uncleanness and according to their transgressions I dealt with them, and I hid My face from them”.  God will deal with sin and punish it.

God is all about restoration and bringing us back to Himself.  But to do that, evil and sin must be dealt with.  Gog is the power of evil, Israel is the people of God. Both have sin problems that have to be addressed.  Gog is destroyed, but Israel is restored as God redeems them from their sin. The people come back to their land, to live in close fellowship with God who is their Redeemer and Savior. “Then they will know that I am the Lord their God because I made them go into exile among the nations, and then gathered them again to their own land; and I will leave none of them there any longer”.  Complete restoration and redemption – that’s the heart of God.  He loves us so……

Leave a Reply

