Ezekiel 37

Ezekiel 37 has one of the craziest stories in all of scripture – the prophets interaction with a valley full of dry bones.  “The hand of the Lord was upon me, and He brought me out by the Spirit of the Lord and set me down in the middle of the valley; and it was full of bones”.  God has a plan to do something new and different and it is all about some dry bones and His prophet.  “Prophesy over these bones and say to them, O dry bones, hear the word of the Lord”.

Doesn’t that seem a bit unusual – to prophecy to a bunch of old dried up bones.  But God is going to do something new and amazing with those bones.  “I will cause breath to enter you that you may come to life. I will put sinews on you, make flesh grow back on you, cover you with skin and put breath in you that you may come alive; and you will know that I am the Lord”.  God’s going to speak life into a bunch of bones and bring them back from the dead – not just dead – but long ago dead.

He used Ezekiel as His messenger but make no mistake, this was all God.  “There was a noise ,and behold, a rattling; and the bones came together, bone to its bone”.  God started the process, but there was much more than just assembling the dry bones into skeletons.  Now He creates bodies and then breaths live into them. “Breathe on these slain, that they come to life”.  Can you imagine Ezekiel’s thoughts about this time.  God’s stirred up a bunch of dry bones and created people that He’s breathed life into.

This was more than a show for that time.  God was creating a word picture of what was to come.  “Behold, I will open your graves and cause you to come up out of your graves, My people; and I will bring you into the land of Israel….Then you will know that I am the Lord”.  He is bringing His people back together and will be their King of Kings and Lord of Lords.  It’s a word picture no one should be able to miss. “I will make a covenant of peace with them; it will be an everlasting covenant with them. And I will place them and multiply them….I will be their God, and they will be My people”.  God has a plan.  He is God even over dry bones!

Leave a Reply

