Jeremiah 33

Jeremiah 33 still has our prophet locked up in jail.  But God knows where he is, and the Word of the Lord came to him again.  Zedekiah may be trying to keep him quiet, but God is not limited by anything man attempts.  God invites Jeremiah to experience the power of faith through prayer.  “Call to me and I will answer you, and will tell you great and hidden things that you have not known”.  The main reason prayers are not answered is that they are never asked.  God wants to answer our prayers, but we have to come to Him in faith and let Him know our hearts.

God makes it clear to Jeremiah why the current situation exists with His people in exile and captivity.  “I have hidden my face from this city because of all their evil”.  God doesn’t tolerate sin.  And He is punishing the people for their choices – idolatry and self centered living.  But even in the middle of that punishment, God still is a God of forgiveness and restoration.  He wants to restore His people.  “I will cleanse them from all the guilt of their sin against me, and I will forgive all the guilt of their sin and rebellion against me”.  See how complete that forgiveness is.  He will clean it ALL away.

Jeremiah is encouraged to remember God’s faithfulness and be grateful for it.  “Give thanks to the Lord of hosts, for the Lord is good, for his steadfast love endures forever!” God’s love never goes away.  And He is good, all the time, whether we see it or not.  God also never breaks a promise or covenant.  So He reminds Jeremiah “Behold, the days are coming, declares the Lord, when I will fulfill the promise I made to the house of Israel and the house of Judah”.  He’s going to restore them and make things right, faithful to His covenant.

In case Jeremiah was struggling to believe it, God makes this promise.  “If you can break my covenant with the day and my covenant with the night, so that day and night will not come at their appointed time, then also my covenant with David my servant may be broken”.  God says that if the day and night stops happening like it is supposed to, then you can doubt whether I’ll keep my covenant as I laid out with David.  But that will never happen.  God never fails us.  His Word is never changed.  And His promise to His people will be delivered.  It isn’t always easy, but it always happens exactly as God plans!

Leave a Reply

