Jeremiah 15

Jeremiah 15 has God speaking directly to Jeremiah about the serious state of affairs in Judah.  He is not pleased with the rebelliousness of His people.  In fact, God tells Jeremiah not to waste his breath trying to intercede for his people.  “Though  Moses and Samuel stood before me, yet my heart would not turn toward this people. Send them out of my sight, and let them go”! These two guys had successfully interceded for the wayward people in their generations, but God says it isn’t going to happen in this case.  Jeremiah would be wasting his breath.

God gets pretty specific about what is coming.  There are four forms of destruction that lie ahead:

  1. The sword
  2. Dogs
  3. Birds of the air
  4. Beasts of the earth

These “four kinds of destroyers…..the sword to kill, the dogs to tear, and the birds of the air and the beasts of the earth to devour and destroy” are alrady in motion and will bring judgment upon Judah.  God isn’t just going to kill them, but also further humiliate them as their bodies are dishonored.

God makes it clear what is underlying this destruction.  “I will make them a horror to all the kingdoms of the earth because of what  Manasseh the son of Hezekiah, king of Judah, did in Jerusalem”.  Manasseh was a particularly bad sinner and his rebellion has made judgment inevitable and irreversible.  God’s going to do a number on His people.  “You have rejected me, declares the Lord; you keep going backward, so I have stretched out my hand against you and destroyed you—I am weary of relenting.  I have winnowed them with a winnowing fork in the gates of the land; I have bereaved them; I have destroyed my people; they did not turn from their ways. I have made their widows more in number than the sand of the seas; I have brought against the mothers of young men a destroyer at noonday; I have made anguish and terror fall upon them suddenly”.  God is going to make it something that will not be forgotten.

Jeremiah is pretty bummed about what’s happening on his watch.  God has told him to get out of the way and let destruction come upon His people.  He’s been under personal attack from people that don’t want to hear the truth.  He asks God to take care of him.  “O Lord, you know; remember me and visit me, and take vengeance for me on my persecutors”.  He doesn’t want to be lumped in with the rest of the people who are going to be utterly punished.  He makes a case for himself with God based on how he has lived.

Your words were found, and I ate them, and your words became to me a joy and the delight of my heart, for I am called by your name, O Lord, God of hosts. I did not sit in the company of revelers, nor did I rejoice;  I sat alone, because your hand was upon me, for you had filled me with indignation”.  Jeremiah didn’t fall into the ways of the rest of the people.  But he had questions about God and what He was going to do.  God tells him to repent of his own sin, and remain unmovable as a prophet of God.  God promises to take care of him.  “I am with you to save you and deliver you….and redeem you”. 

One response to this post.

Leave a Reply

