Isaiah 46

Isaiah 46 begins with the prophet making it clear that idols have no power.  God gets personal, naming names when it comes to idols.  “Bel bows down; Nebo stoops”.  No dodging that.  God has just got done reminding us that every knew will bow to Him, and He begins this chapter reminding us that idols certainly are false gods that deserve no attention.  God’s people had carried their idols when they were forced into captivity and now He is clear they need to forget that dead weight and worship only Him.

God calls on his people to pay attention.  “Listen to me, O house of Jacob, all the remnant of the house of Israel, who have been borne by me from before your birth, carried from the womb; even to your old age I am he, and to gray hairs I will carry you. I have made, and I will bear; I will carry and will save”.  When we understand that God has made us, and we are valuable to Him, then we can trust Him to carry us.  He’s been there and done that all along, even though we aren’t always seeing His hand.

God alone can save His people.  “To whom will you liken me and make me equal, and compare me, that we may be alike?”  There is none like Him.  The false idols may look good and be made of gold and silver, but they are folly when compared to the one true God.  People cling to their idols and carry them around hoping for something to happen, but they are merely a god that falls over.  There is no power.  There is no strength.  We need to keep our eyes and heart focused on God.

Remember this and stand firm, recall it to mind, you transgressors, remember the former things of old; for I am God, and there is no other; I am God, and there is none like me….and I will accomplish all my purpose”.  How much defeat we suffer in the Christian life through simply forgetting!  God knows the end of every matter, of every course of circumstances, just as clearly as anyone else can see the beginning of it.  He is in control of all things and will accomplish His purpose!

One response to this post.

Leave a Reply

