Isaiah 45

Isaiah 45 has the prophet delivering a remarkable prophecy about a man named Cyrus nearly 200 years before he is even born.  “Thus says the Lord to his anointed, to Cyrus”.  God is going to use this king to reclaim His people and His creation.  God’s got the plan all worked out.  “I will go before you and level the exalted places, I will break in pieces the doors of bronze and cut through the bars of iron, I will give you the treasures of darkness and the hoards in secret places, that you may know that it is I, the Lord, the God of Israel, who call you by your name”.  Cyrus is going to be well rewarded for his obedience, but God has the plan and will do the work.

Cyrus may have thought God picked him because of some trait he had.  But the real focus was on God’s people and God’s response to their cry to be set free.  This wasn’t really about Cyrus at all – he was merely the chosen means to accomplish God’s plan.  The focus was about God’s people.  Cyrus didn’t even know God, but God knew what was to come.  “I call you by your name, I name you, though you do not know me. I am the Lord, and there is no other, besides me there is no God; I equip you, though you do not know me, that people may know, from the rising of the sun and from the west, that there is none besides me; I am the Lord, and there is no other.

God’s focus is on the outcome.  He’s clear that Cyrus will be equipped to do the job, even before He is conceived, or for that matter likely even his father and mother were alive.  God has a plan to anoint him, guide him, bless him, and use him.  God is the Creator of all.  We need to be sure we never forget that.  “Does the clay say to him who forms it, ‘What are you making?’ or ‘Your work has no handles”?  We have no right to question what God has done or will do.  He alone is the Creator, and we are His creation.  “I made the earth and created man on it; it was my hands that stretched out the heavens, and I commanded all their host”.

Above all else God is Lord and Savior.  “Israel is saved by the Lord with everlasting salvation; you shall not be put to shame or confounded to all eternity…. Turn to me and be saved, all the ends of the earth! For I am God, and there is no other.  There is no plan B here.  God alone is the One who saves, and that is His plan for His people.  He chooses to use a common man not yet born named Cyrus in this case, but God is God and He is the only One.  Ultimately, everyone will get it.  “To me every knee shall bow, every tongue shall swear allegiance”.  Not some, not most, but everyone will bow.  That’s the true God of creation.  He alone is God above all!

One response to this post.

Leave a Reply

