Isaiah 44

Isaiah 44  has the prophet reminding us of what God says to His people.  “Fear not….For I will pour water on the thirsty land, and streams on the dry ground; I will pour my Spirit upon your offspring, and my blessing on your descendants. They shall spring up among the grass like willows by flowing streams”.  While the previous chapter ends with a warning of judgment, God reminds His people   they will never be alone. God promises to pour His Spirit into His people, a promise we can cling to.

Isaiah goes on to remind us how God has created all things and alone is God.  “I am the first and I am the last; besides me there is no god. Who is like me? And later in the chapter God challenges the creation of idols, which we tend to do in many ways.  “Shall I fall down before a block of wood”?  An idol is simply putting something other than God in a place that only He deserves to be.  We idolize many things today, from stuff to people to activities.  Anytime we allow anyone or anything to get in our way of worshipping and glorifying God, we are idol worshippers.  There is none like Him.  We much be careful to keep Him where He rightfully belongs, on the throne of our life.

Fear not, nor be afraid; have I not told you from of old and declared it? And you are my witnesses! Is there a God besides me? There is no Rock; I know not any.”  God challenges us about who or what else can compare.  And He answers His own question with a resounding – there are none – there is no one or no thing that is worthy of our praise besides Him.  So we must make sure we never let anything else get in the way and take His place – our Lord, our Savior, our Rock!

God is also our redeemer.  No idol can do anything for us, but certainly cannot deal with the sin problem we all have.  But He can, He has, and He will. I have blotted out your transgressions like a cloud and your sins like mist; return to me, for I have redeemed you….I am the Lord, who made all things”.  God is our Creator, and also our Redeemer.  He doesn’t just overlook our sin.  In fact, He is unable to do that.  It has to be paid for.  There is a price for sin, always.  So God sent Jesus to the Cross to pay for our sin, to cover the cost, and to redeem us to Himself for all eternity.  That is what true love looks life.  He has made a way.  Now it’s up to us to receive that gift of grace and make it our own through a saving relationship with Jesus Christ!

One response to this post.

Leave a Reply

