Isaiah 43

Isaiah 43 has the prophet reminding the people there is no need to fear.  “Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by name, you are mine. When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you; when you walk through fire you shall not be burned, and the flame shall not consume you”.  The promise here is strong – God is our redeemer.  Just as He brought the Israelites out of exile and spiritual slavery, He will redeem us through Christ.

He is personal for each of us.  “I am the Lord your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior.  God is much more than the great I AM.  Look at all the ways He takes action on our behalf:

  • I give
  • I love you
  • I will bring
  • I will gather
  • I will say
  • I created
  • I formed
  • I am he
  • I am the Lord
  • I am God
  • I am he
  • I work
  • I send
  • I have

This is a God of action.  He has and will be our Lord and Savior.  We can depend on that.

Isaiah challenges the people not to recall the circumstances of captivity and exile, but to focus on what God has promised to do.  “Remember not the former things, nor consider the things of old. Behold, I am doing a new thing; now it springs forth, do you not perceive it? I will make a way in the wilderness and rivers in the desert”.  Staying stuck in the past can keep us from the new thing God wants to do. If Israel stayed stuck in the discouragement and seduction of Babylon, they would never look for the new thing of release from exile.  We have to be willing to do new things to keep up with God’s blessings and will.

Isaiah reminds us that God is not only our Rock but also Savior.  “I am he who blots out your transgressions for my own sake, and I will not remember your sins”.  God has made a way for us to overcome our sin problem and be set free.  Despite all the sin and disregard for God, He still loves His people, and longs for their return to Him.  How can God forget? By simply choosing to not remember. God has forgotten our sin as being fully paid for by what Jesus endured on the cross. We can forget our sin also, and put it far from us.  With Christ comes freedom from the past and a chance to do new things with God in the future!

Leave a Reply

