Song of Solomon 3

Song of Solomon 3 has the maiden having a bad night.  She woke up and instantly felt alone, missing her beloved.  “On my bed by night I sought him whom my soul loves; I sought him, but found him not”.  There was a constant longing to be together.  This is another dream or daydream of the maiden expressing how much she wants to be with her soul mate.  When she awoke, she didn’t just miss him, she took action and sought after him.  It caused her to take action and pursue him to be with him again.

Can you imagine the difference in our walk with Christ if we were to wake up and realize we were not with Him, and then we sought Him like this story portrays?  The maiden gets up in the middle of the night, goes into town, asks the watchmen to help, and finds her beloved.  “Scarcely had I passed them when I found him whom my soul loves”.  This is not merely a picture of the deep love we should have for our mate, but an even greater picture of what our relationship with Jesus Christ ought be.  We need to pursue being with Him as much…..

The difference is that obviously Christ doesn’t leave us in the first place.  He won’t wander off or be somewhere else.  He’s always there, always with us, whether we are aware and recognize it or not.  We need to have the same kind of relationship with Jesus that the maiden demonstrates with her beloved.  “I held him, and would not let him go until I had brought him into my mother’s house”.  We need to seek after Jesus and hold on to Him refusing to let go.  That’s what a great walk with the Lord looks like.  Not the ‘I’ll call out if I need anything’ mentality that we often have.

What does pursuing our mate, or our Lord, look like.  Spurgeon shared these steps:

  • She loved him.
  • She sought him.
  • She found him not.
  • She found him.
  • She held him.
  • She brought him.

And he went on to share these thoughts on our walk with Christ.  ‘If you are willing to lose Christ’s company he is never intrusive, he will go away from you, and leave you till you know his value and begin to pine for him. ‘I will go,’ says he, ‘and return to my place, till they acknowledge their offense, and seek my face: in their affliction they will seek me early.’ He will go unless you hold him.’ (Spurgeon)

  • Jesus must be held; He will go unless you hold Him.
  • Jesus is willing to be held; He is not trying to escape us.
  • Jesus can be held; He we can grasp Him by faith.
  • Jesus Himself must be held; not merely a creed, tradition, or a ceremony.
2 responses to this post.

  1. Reblogged this on omigacouk.

    Reply

  2. Good explanation, Arlin. —- Suzanne

    Reply

Leave a Reply

