Proverbs 8

Proverbs 8 has Solomon exhorting us about the importance of wisdom.  “Does not wisdom call? Does not understanding raise her voice?….O simple ones, learn prudence; O fools, learn sense….Take my instruction instead of silver, and knowledge rather than choice gold, for wisdom is better than jewels, and all that you may desire cannot compare with her”.  Wisdom is there calling out and seeking to get our attention.  It is the secret to gaining knowledge and knowing how to live.  It is more valuable than silver or gold, and it is free for our taking.

But we have to seek it.  It doesn’t just drop on our head and instantly make us wise.  “I love those who love me, and those who seek me diligently find me”.  God doesn’t hide wisdom from us.  Nor does He force it upon us.  We have to seek it.  We have to pursue it and find it.  And then, most importantly, we have to live life based on it.  “I walk in the way of righteousness, in the paths of justice, granting an inheritance to those who love me, and filling their treasuries.”   The impact of wisdom is amazing.

God promises an inheritance and a full treasury if we simply walk in the outcome of wisdom – righteousness and justice.  Living God’s way isn’t rocket science.  He’s given us all sorts of direction in His Word, through those who have gone before us.  We merely need to seek all that wisdom and make it our own. “The Lord possessed me at the beginning of his work, the first of his acts of old. Ages ago I was set up, at the first, before the beginning of the earth.”  God’s had a plan since the beginning of time.

The charge is pretty simple.  We’re to listen and learn and obey.  “Hear instruction and be wise, and do not neglect it. Blessed is the one who listens to me, watching daily at my gates, waiting beside my doors. For whoever finds me finds life and obtains favor from the Lord, but he who fails to find me injures himself; all who hate me love death”.  We need to listen well and not neglect the instruction God has provided.  He has given us the formula to find life and favor, but we have to pursue it.  We have to seek it.  We have to live it!

Leave a Reply

