Proverbs 4

Proverbs 4 has Solomon instructing his kids, and reminding us, that the wisdom of a father is something we need to pay attention to.  “Hear, O sons, a father’s instruction, and be attentive, that you may gain insight, for I give you good precepts; do not forsake my teaching”.  I have to admit that growing up, and even during my early adult years, I didn’t necessarily value the instruction of my father.  It was amazing how must more intelligent and wise my dad got as I grew older, particularly after marriage and becoming a dad myself.  He became brilliant then, as I sought advice about things I had no clue about.

Solomon’s instruction was simple:  “Let your heart hold fast my words; keep my commandments, and live”.  Learning to listen to a father’s instruction is a great lesson to learn.  And learning to listen to our heavenly Father’s instruction is even far more important.  God’s words will keep us on track and moving in His presence.  We’re told to “Keep hold of instruction; do not let go; guard her, for she is your life”.  In order to do that we must read God’s instruction to us – His Word – and bring it into our heart so we can live by it.

Our search for that instruction should not be passive.  “Get wisdom; get insight; do not forget, and do not turn away from the words of my mouth. Do not forsake her, and she will keep you; love her, and she will guard you”.  God doesn’t force it on us.  We have to pursue it and seek it in order to find it.  When we do, it will be a very good thing.  “Prize her highly, and he will exalt you; she will honor you if you embrace her”.  The wisdom of God and our father is something we should hold dear.  It is a foundation for His protection.

How important is it to pursue and live by God’s Word?  ” Hear, my son, and accept my words, that the years of your life may be many.  I have taught you the way of wisdom; I have led you in the paths of uprightness. When you walk, your step will not be hampered, and if you run, you will not stumble”.  It is the direction we need to walk successfully through life.  In fact, it enables us to run if we are truly walking in His ways.  God’s Word is a light to our path.  It is the direction we need to walk in His ways.  We need to seek His words and follow them carefully.

Leave a Reply

