Psalm 141

Psalm 141 has David again crying out to God.  David was in distress when he penned this psalm, pursued most likely by Saul.  “O Lord, I call upon you; hasten to me! Give ear to my voice when I call to you”!  He has a personal relationship with God, and walks constant in His presence so when he prays, he knows God is listening.  We can have the same confidence.  Same God today as was there for David.  And He is listening and ready fo come to us just like He did David.

David knows that his lips are powerful.  “Set a guard, O Lord, over my mouth; keep watch over the door of my lips”!  The tongue is a powerful thing.  And it can lead us into sin.  David was in fear of sin, and he begs God that he might be kept from sin, knowing that his prayers would not be accepted unless he watched against sin. We must be as earnest for God’s grace in us as for anything.  Sin is a real issue.  It gets in the way of relationships, particularly between us and God.  We need to watch our mouth and keep our tongue controlled.

Who we are with matters.  Our hearts are already bent toward sin and doing evil, so who we hang with can pull us over the edge and move us from the temptation to sin to the act of committing sin.  “Do not let my heart incline to any evil, to busy myself with wicked deeds in company with men who work iniquity, and let me not eat of their delicacies”!  We must guard against temptation and stay away from those who would draw us into the sinful pleasures that the enemy will put before us.  Often we choose to go with the crowd rather than stand alone in righteousness.

So how do we stay the course?  We keep our eyes focused on God, not the allure of the world.  “But my eyes are toward you, O God, my Lord; in you I seek refuge; leave me not defenseless! Keep me from the trap that they have laid for me and from the snares of evildoers”!  Our defense against temptation and ultimately sin is to keep our eyes directly on God and to walk in His presence.  Evil cannot be in God’s presence, so if we abide there and walk with Him, we will be safe.  God is our rock and protection.  In Him we need have no fear!

Leave a Reply

