Psalm 139

Psalm 139 has David in conversation with God about the intimate relationship God has with him.  “O Lord, you have searched me and known me!  You know when I sit down and when I rise up; you discern my thoughts from afar. You search out my path and my lying down and are acquainted with all my ways.”.  There are no secrets with God.  He knows us deeply.  He can see right through us – to our motives and heart.  God knows all whether we are resting or active – there are no surprises for Him.  He also understands the reasons behind our decisions and choices because He knows our heart.  And He can tell what our deepest thoughts and drives are.

Do we ever walk alone? No – not ever.  God has promised that.  “Even before a word is on my tongue, behold, O Lord, you know it altogether.”  Comforting, yet convicting.  We at times want to do whatever we want and close our eyes to the reality that God is there and sees all, hears all, and knows all.  But we can’t hide from Him.  We aren’t pulling the wool over His eyes.  There are no secrets He isn’t aware of before it happens.  God loves us, in spite of what He knows.  Our sins are never a surprise, and it grieves Him when we continually make choices that are sinful and fall short of His mark.  That’s what sin is, falling short of the standard God has set for man to live up to.

We can run, but we can’t hide.  “Where shall I go from your Spirit? Or where shall I flee from your presence?  If I ascend to heaven, you are there! If I make my bed in Sheol, you are there!”  Rather than running from God, we should run to Him.  We ought to see Him as not Someone to flee from, but to run toward all our days.  God is omnipresent.  He is omnipotent.  He is everywhere and sees everything.  So our right response is to bask in that presence rather than hide and run from it.  When we run, He’s still there: “even there your hand shall lead me, and your right hand shall hold me.”  God never leaves us nor forsakes us.  He stands ready to help us and hold us tight.

Does God know us intimately?  “For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.”  God not only knows us but designed and created us exactly as we are.  As that old statement goes – God doesn’t make any junk.  We are not a mistake.  We are not a surprise to Him.  He knit us together exactly the way we are – physically, emotionally, mentally, spiritually and in every other way.  God formed us for His purpose and on purpose.  And He created each of us with a unique purpose that we have the opportunity to discover and walk with Him in each day of our lives.  What a glorious plan.  What an amazing God!

Leave a Reply

