Psalm 118

Psalm 118 begins and ends with the exact same words.  “Oh give thanks to the Lord, for he is good; for his steadfast love endures forever”!  My interpretation of these words:  God is good, all the time.  We need to remember to put God where He belongs, on the throne of our life, and He is indeed worthy of our thanks and praise.  And His goodness never ends.  Forever is a very long time, and His love and goodness lasts that long.  We never have to wonder if God loves us and if that love will manifest itself in good.  It always does!

The writer is again in deep trouble in this psalm.  “Out of my distress I called on the Lord; the Lord answered me and set me free”.  God shows up when we call.  Far too often we wait far too long to call on Him, but He is there, He is listening, and He does respond.  Do we always get the outcome we desire?  No, but that doesn’t mean God is failing to show up.  And when He does, we know this to be true.  “The Lord is on my side; I will not fear. What can man do to me”?  Man can harm our body, but God will be there to protect our spirit and soul.  He never lets go of us so we need not fear anything man might do.

It is better to take refuge in the Lord than to trust in man. It is better to take refuge in the Lord than to trust in princes”.  God’s protection and refuge is always better than any other option.  There is nothing we can run to that compares.  We are tempted to trust other people, or even those who have risen to power, but the reality is that there is nothing more reliable and dependable than taking refuge in God Himself.  He is above all.  He is over all.  He is our reliable refuge and strength.

God is all we need.  But our relationship with the Father should be more than an answer to our problems.  God wants to be in relationship with us.  He is the source of our strength and the joy in our heart.  We need to realize that He is our salvation.  “The Lord is my strength and my song; he has become my salvation”.  God is the answer to our issues of life and the world.  “You are my God, and I will give thanks to you; you are my God”.  As we walk with Him in harmony and follow His direction, we will be blessed indeed.  He is God.  We need to give Him all our adoration and praise!

Leave a Reply

