Psalm 77

Psalm 77 is all about connecting with God and tapping into His love and power for our lives.  “I cry aloud to God, aloud to God, and he will hear me”.  I love the confidence the psalmist has here.  He doesn’t wonder if God hears.  There is no ‘might’ or ‘could’ but the reality that God will hear when we cry out to Him.  It doesn’t say God will do what we ask though.  There is a difference.  God always hears.  God responds according to His wisdom and His will, not mine.  We have to keep that difference in mind as we pray.

But God is the place for us to run when we are in trouble.  “In the day of my trouble I seek the Lord; in the night my hand is stretched out without wearying; my soul refuses to be comforted”.  Persistent prayer is one secret to getting to God’s heart.  We must not grow weary in talking with God.  He wants us to come to Him time and again with our heartfelt prayer.  Not because He can’t remember what we have already asked for.  But persistence shows the depth of our request.  Continually asking shows the power of ongoing prayer.

We are also reminded to stop, take time, and remember God.  “When I remember God, I moan; when I meditate, my spirit faints….I consider the days of old, the years long ago”.  Throughout scripture we are told to ‘remember’.  God has a long history of faithfulness.  He has a huge body of work that shows us how He does things.  We need to remember, with awe and fear, who God is and what He has done.  The psalmist says “Let me remember my song in the night; let me meditate in my heart”.

 The message continues.  “I will remember the deeds of the Lord; yes, I will remember your wonders of old. I will ponder all your work, and meditate on your mighty deeds”.  God does what He says He will do.  God never fails or lets us down.  He has created the earth and put the sun and stars in the skies.  He is faithful.  “Your way, O God, is holy. What god is great like our God? You are the God who works wonders; you have made known your might among the peoples”.  God works wonders all around us.  He always has.  Will you let Him work a wonder in your life?

Leave a Reply

