Psalm 71

Psalm 71 is written by a mature believer in God with a deep relationship, but there is no clear definition of who wrote it.  Some believe it was David, others someone else.  The psalm uses the same words or similar phrases as other psalms.  It is reasonable to think the author of Psalm 71 made study and meditation upon God’s Word a priority through his life, and the result is that he naturally uses the phrases and vocabulary of the Scriptures to pray and praise.  In any case, we know the author is facing some significant challenges with his enemies as he asks God to save, rescue or be his refuge.

In you, O Lord, do I take refuge; let me never be put to shame! In your righteousness deliver me and rescue me; incline your ear to me, and save me”!  Many psalms begin with the writer’s needs, and this one is no different.  It’s a plea for help and assistance.  And the focus of hope – the writer is dependent on God.  “For you, O Lord, are my hope, my trust”.  We see a weak man but one with a strong relationship with God.  He is dependent on God’s action in his life for protection and deliverance.

His enemies are many.  They not only want to destroy him, but they work together to try and make that happen.  “For my enemies speak concerning me; those who watch for my life consult together and say, God has forsaken him; pursue and seize him, for there is none to deliver him.”  Evil doesn’t act alone.  The forces of evil work together to try and destroy us.  Our enemy has made it clear the mission is to kill, steal and destroy.  Jesus felt the same attacks of the enemy in His life.

But there is maturity in this writer’s relationship with God.  Check out how he expresses praise for God’s faithfulness.  “I will hope continually and will praise you yet more and more. My mouth will tell of your righteous acts, of your deeds of salvation all the day, for their number is past my knowledge”.  The author makes it clear that he will tell the world of God’s faithfulness.  He is not shy about proclaiming God’s praise.  “I will also praise you with the harp….I will sing praises to you with the lyre….My lips will shout for joy….my tongue will talk of your righteous help all the day long”.  The writer is telling the world that God is faithful.  This comes from a deep relationship and an understanding of God’s faithfulness over time!

One response to this post.

Leave a Reply

