Psalm 62

Psalm 62 has David waiting on God.  “For God alone my soul waits in silence; from him comes my salvation. He only is my rock and my salvation, my fortress; I shall not be greatly shaken”.  Unlike many of David’s psalms, he does not begin by describing his difficult situation.  Here he focuses on the source of his future.  David is trusting in God alone for his strength and stability. The description given is of a man completely focused upon God for His help, firmly resolved to look nowhere else.  David has no plan B.  It is God and He alone that will save him.

And that faith and trust runs deep.  He leans upon God as rock and fortress – God is his power and protection.  And while the enemy may come at him from all sides, as it often did, he will not be shaken because he knows that God is not only alive but there with him.  “For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence, for my hope is from him”.  David speaks to his soul, telling it to remain in a place of trust in and surrender to God. David’s complete expectation was upon God.  He has no other plan.

For David, and for us, there is no other option.  “He only is my rock and my salvation, my fortress; I shall not be shaken. On God rests my salvation and my glory; my mighty rock, my refuge is God”.  David again reinforces God’s place in his life.  God is rock, salvation, fortress and refuge.  God is all to David.  And his life depends on that.  God isn’t peripheral to him – God is the center and the source of all that matters.  And he reinforces again that because of who God is – he will not be shaken.  He will not fall.

David gives us the game plan for life.  “Trust in him at all times, O people; pour out your heart before him; God is a refuge for us”.  As a leader of God’s people he spoke wisdom to them, reminding them that God was worthy at all times of their trust in Him.  And it wasn’t something that David makes up.  “Once God has spoken; twice have I heard this: that power belongs to God, and that to you, O Lord, belongs steadfast love. For you will render to a man according to his work”.  God has been clear – He is the source of power and love.  And He will judge each of us as we stand before Him someday.  It is who He is and what He will do!

Leave a Reply

