Psalm 59

Psalm 59 has David again asking God to deliver him.  “Deliver me from my enemies, O my God; protect me from those who rise up against me; deliver me from those who work evil, and save me from bloodthirsty men”. This happens when Saul sent men, and they watched David’s house in order to kill him. It refers to the incident in 1 Samuel 19:11-12, which was when the murderous intent of King Saul against David was openly revealed and began his long season of living as a fugitive. “For behold, they lie in wait for my life; fierce men stir up strife against me”.

David describes them as prowling about – sounds much like Peter’s description of our enemy Satan in the New Testament.  “Each evening they come back, howling like dogs and prowling about the city. There they are, bellowing with their mouths with swords in their lips”.  The men sent to watch David’s house and kill him were determined. They didn’t give up quickly and they howled like dangerous dogs, going all around the city to find and murder David.  They weren’t giving up.

David knows God is his protector and rock.  “I will watch for you, for you, O God, are my fortress.  My God in his steadfast love will meet me; God will let me look in triumph on my enemies”.  He describes God as his shield.  He knows that God is his only chance.  “For the sin of their mouths, the words of their lips, let them be trapped in their pride. For the cursing and lies that they utter, consume them in wrath; consume them till they are no more that they may know that God rules over Jacob to the ends of the earth”.  They are evil and David wants God to destroy them and be glorified through His actions.

The enemy would wait for him in the evening, but David was confident that with God as his defense and refuge that he would survive until morning. “I will sing of your strength; I will sing aloud of your steadfast love in the morning. For you have been to me a fortress and a refuge in the day of my distress”.  David knows where His strength and power would come from.  He knows that God alone is his refuge and strength.  He is the source of all power.  God is the one we can trust and depend on!

Leave a Reply

