Psalm 56

Psalm 56 has David when the Philistines captured him in Gath as recorded in 1 Samuel 21:10-15.  “Be gracious to me, O God, for man tramples on me; all day long an attacker oppresses me; my enemies trample on me all day long, for many attack me proudly”.  David was in great and constant danger from many enemies – both the Philistines and Saul’s servants. He cried out to God, knowing that divine help could rescue him from any man-made threat.  God was his only real option, and he recognizes his need to seek God’s help.

When I am afraid, I put my trust in you”. David killed a lion and a bear, he killed Goliath, and was a successful young captain in Israel’s army.  But he did not deny the presence of fear in his life.  Mighty as he was, there is still fear.  He was unable to merely trust his own strength.  “In God, whose word I praise, in God I trust; I shall not be afraid”.  His trust in God was directly connected with God’s word. His trust wasn’t a blind hope or wish cast up to heaven; it was based on God’s revealed character and His promises.

His enemies didn’t give up.  “They stir up strife, they lurk; they watch my steps, as they have waited for my life”.  David’s enemies were focused on one thing – to destroy him and take him out.  They were constantly after him.  There was no rest.  But David knows God.  “This I know, that God is for me”.  David knows that God is on his side.  And one plus God is always enough.  One plus God is always the majority.  David puts his faith in God and demonstrates his trust.

His faith is deep.  “In God, whose word I praise, in the Lord, whose word I praise, in God I trust; I shall not be afraid. What can man do to me”?  David believes in God’s Word.  He knows it is true and right.  He knows he can trust it completely.  And because of that, he does not need to let fear have any control. He knows God is in control.  And he knows no matter what man does to him, God is greater and has a plan.  David knows God will deliver him. “For you have delivered my soul from death, yes, my feet from falling, that I may walk before God in the light of life”.

Leave a Reply

