Psalm 40

Psalm 40 has David waiting on the Lord.  “I waited patiently for the Lord; he inclined to me and heard my cry”.  Waiting patiently could be translated as something like ‘I waited as I waited’.  David knows that God alone is the answer to his situation.  And he has confidence that God will listen and respond.  He tells us that God was faithful.  “He drew me up from the pit of destruction, out of the miry bog, and set my feet upon a rock, making my steps secure. He put a new song in my mouth, a song of praise to our God”.  God never fails.  We may not get what we want, but God will do what His plan is.

David isn’t afraid to live openly in his walk with God. “Many will see and fear, and put their trust in the Lord”.  So many think they should live out their faith in private.  I hear it all the time when I talk with leaders in the marketplace.  ‘My faith is personal’ they say.  While that is true – faith is individual and private between you and God.  It is not designed to be kept quiet and under a bushel.  God calls us to live openly with Him and let the world know.  To shout it from the mountaintops so to say.  And that was David’s approach.  “I will proclaim and tell”.  No secret relationship here.  Full disclosure of God’s faithfulness and love.

David helps us understand that God wants our heart, not just sacrifice.  “6 Sacrifice and offering you have not desired….Burnt offering and sin offering you have not required”.  God loves us, plain and simple.  He wants a relationship.  He wants to be our God.  David tells us how he has shared about the God he loved:

  1. “I desire to do your will, O my God; your law is within my heart
  2. I have told the glad news of deliverance in the great congregation
  3. I have not restrained my lips
  4. I have not hidden your deliverance
  5. I have spoken of your faithfulness and your salvation
  6. I have not concealed your steadfast love and your faithfulness”

David’s desire is that all will come to have the kind of relationship with God he has.  “May all who seek you rejoice and be glad in you”.  Should recognize that God is personal and amazing.  David tells us “Great is the Lord….You are my help and my deliverer”.  Who is God to you?  Is He non-existent and completely missing?  Is He some distant being that is impersonal and disconnected?  Or is He the God David knew – a personal, loving, caring, providing, protecting and faithful God who lives with you and is the center of your life?  The latter is what David knew.  That’s the God I know too!  He is alive.  He is the same God today as He was for David.  The only question is whether you’ll seek Him and find Him!

Leave a Reply

