Psalm 38

Psalm 38 is filled with pain as a result of sin.  It is a song full of pain and dark with guilt, as David felt the effects of his sin.  “O Lord, rebuke me not in your anger, nor discipline me in your wrath! For your arrows have sunk into me, and your hand has come down on me”.  Sin always comes with a severe price.  It isn’t ever something that goes unnoticed or overlooked by God.  He can’t – He’s righteous and holy and sin is outside His nature in every way.  It separates us in our relationship with God, but also impacts us physically.  “There is no health in my bones because of my sin”.

So how do we deal with sin?  David cried out to God. He followed a wise path, drawing near to the Lord though he sensed both God’s wrath and displeasure.  Our immediate response is often to run from God, but in fact, like David we need to run toward Him.  Sin will overwhelm us.  It will keep us down and out.  There is agony of David in the Psalm as he recognizes that his plight is because of his own sin.  There is no one else to blame. It helps us understand that on the cross Jesus was made the target of the same agony, but for our sins, not for His own.

David felt oppressed under the weight of his sins. He hoped that by honestly telling his story he could move God to compassion.  “O Lord, all my longing is before you; my sighing is not hidden from you”.  David lets God know that he is guilty and in need of God’s touch.  “For you, O Lord, do I wait; it is you, O Lord my God, who will answer”.  David knows that God alone can help free us from the price of sin.  David appealed to God with complete transparency. His misery was not hidden from God or from any who would hear this Psalm.

He shows us what we need to do when we sin.  It’s really pretty simple.  “I confess my iniquity; I am sorry for my sin”.  This Psalm came out of David’s anguish over his sin.  He knew he was guilty and needed to be set free and forgiven.  That entire process starts with knowing we are a sinner and confessing our sin.  Being sorry for sin does not change it, but it is the right spirit in which to bring our problem to Jesus, who is the reconciliation and our Savior from the wages of sin which is death.  David shows us how to deal with sin.  Confess, repent, and turn to Jesus!

Leave a Reply

