Psalm 31

Psalm 31 begins with a plea to God for protection.  “In you, O Lord, do I take refuge….deliver me….rescue me….Be a rock of refuge for me, a strong fortress to save me!  For you are my rock and my fortress….you take me out of the net they have hidden for me, for you are my refuge”.  We serve a strong and mighty God, One who is more than able to protect us and keep us safe.  Enemies are all around and attempting to destroy us at every turn – many we can’t see or aren’t even aware of – which is all the more reason we must rely on God’s protection and strength.

And the good news is that we can rely on Him, and He will be our God.  He loves us and as such we can join the psalmist in saying “I will rejoice and be glad in your steadfast love….you have set my feet in a broad place”.  God’s love is not this narrow little ledge we have to fear falling off.  God’s love is deep and wide and broad and forever.  We can stand firmly upon that love and know that God is with us.  We can trust Him even when the circumstances seem overwhelming and bad.

And when we’re down and out, God is still there.  The psalmist is at a low point in life.  “I have become a reproach….I have been forgotten….I have become like a broken vessel”.  There are times that life gets the best of us.  We struggle to stay positive and fall prey to the negative.  It’s in those times we have to dig deep and rely on what we know to be true.  In the midst of pain and suffering, when it seems the enemy have overwhelmed us, we need to say “But I trust in you, O Lord; I say, “You are my God”.  God will always be our God.  He is faithful for eternity!

He isn’t just an OK God either.  “How abundant is your goodness…. blessed be the Lord, for he has wondrously shown his steadfast love to me….the Lord preserves the faithful”.  God pours out His goodness and blessing freely upon us.  He loves to do that – to bestow the good things He has created upon us.  It’s one way He shows His steadfast love – by blessing us and giving us far more than we deserve.  It’s called grace, and it is His very nature.  God is our fortress and strength, and the source of every good and perfect gift from above!

Leave a Reply

