Psalm 30

Psalm 30 has our psalmist remembering how God has been active in his life.  God has been responsive.  He tells us four things that God has been faithful to do when he has cried out and called for help:

  • you have drawn me up and not let my foes rejoice over me
  • You have healed me
  • You have brought up my soul from Sheol
  • You restored me to life

God hears our cries.  He is alive and takes action on our behalf.

The response to God should be that of praise and adoration.  We should be filled with thanksgiving and joy.  “Sing praises to the Lord, O you his saints, and give thanks to his holy name”.  When’s the last time you spent your prayer time focused on praise and thanksgiving rather than a laundry list of needs and wants and desires?    The reality is that most of us are guilty of treating God like a genie in a bottle – we come to Him with a list of things we want Him to do, not filled with praise for what He has already done.

As a Christ Follower, “joy comes in the morning”.  Each day we begin a new with our God. We need to remember that “his favor is for a lifetime”.   God’s love never changes.  It doesn’t fail.  It never moves.    “I shall never be moved”.  God is our rock and salvation.  We can cling to Him and know that He will always be there.  God wants us to come to Him with our needs, but not that alone.  “I cry, and to the Lord I plead for mercy”.   God will hear and answer our prayers.

O Lord, be my helper”!  That is how we often pray.  God please come alongside me and help me do what I want.  The purpose of prayer is to get us aligned with what God is already doing.  And as we figure that out, then we “may sing your praise and not be silent”.  As we see God at work, we need to acknowledge His hand in our life and cry out with praise and adoration.  We should shout it from the mountaintops that God has been at work in our life.  And then our story should be “O Lord my God, I will give thanks to you forever”!

Leave a Reply

