Psalm 27

Psalm 27 has David beginning with confidence in God as he says “The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life; of whom shall I be afraid”?  That is the kind of confidence we all can have in the Lord.  David’s life was filled with the Lord, and his life was therefore filled with light.  God is the source of his salvation, and ours as well.  When we walk with God, there is no reason to fear.  God is our rock and One we can be confident in.

God’s got a proven track record in David’s life, and he remembers it here.  “When evildoers assail me to eat up my flesh, my adversaries and foes, it is they who stumble and fall”.  He doesn’t forget God’s faithfulness.  In fact, he goes on to recall God’s never ending protection and that truth provides the platform to overcome fear and provide confidence. “Though an army encamp against me, my heart shall not fear; though war arise against me, yet I will be confident”.  We too must remember all that God has done.  He never fails.  He always is there.  And we can depend fully on Him.

God is our protector.  David has asked and has confidence that God will be there for him.  “For he will hide me in his shelter in the day of trouble; he will conceal me under the cover of his tent; he will lift me high upon a rock”.  God will make a way.  He is dependable and we can be sure of His intent.  And as a result, we need to celebrate His faithfulness and sing his praises and make melody to His name.  David is full of joy and gratitude for all that God has done for him.  He seeks God’s face, and God responds.

David ends by reminding us that God is in control, and the only source of power.  “Wait for the Lord; be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the Lord”!  David’s instructions are pretty simple – wait, be strong and courageous, but wait.  Why does he tell us to wait twice?  Because our human nature is to do exactly the opposite.  We don’t like to wait, and usually don’t or won’t.  The idea behind waiting on the Lord is not a passive sitting around until the Lord does something. Yes, God gives us strength; but we don’t expect it to come as if He were pouring it into us as we sit passively. He brings it to us as we seek Him, and rely on Him, instead of our own strength. If we are weak, it is because we do not wait…on the Lord.

Leave a Reply

