Psalm 18

Psalm 18 has David giving praise to God and not only announcing his love of God, but all that God is to him.  The says the Lord is

  • My strength
  • my rock
  • my fortress
  • my deliverer
  • my God
  • my rock
  • my shield
  • my salvation
  • my stronghold

And he reminds us that the Lord is worthy to be praised.

David lists nine specific ways that God has be active in his life.  David has a personal relationship with God, and has seen God in many ways.  He can speak in such detail here because he has experienced God up close and personal.  He has been saved from his enemies by the God of the universe.  He knows Him intimately.  God is the object of David’s worship.  We need to be close to God in the same way.  He is with us, and God performs these things in our lives as well, but we need to be alert and identify all that He does for us.  And we need to be in relationship so we can say “my” too.

David hasn’t had it easy – so this love fest isn’t based on a life of ease and freedom from pain or suffering.  “The cords of death encompassed me; the torrents of destruction assailed me; the cords of Sheol entangled me; the snares of death confronted me”.  David has spent lots of days running for his life, trying to save his own skin.  He’s been pursued and chased and the target of many.  But he realizes that his ability to be alive is not because of his great skill as a warrior, but the very presence and protection of God.

David spends the rest of the chapter describing just how powerful God has been in his life as he addressed the many attacks and attempts to destroy him.  God delivered David because of his righteousness and obedience. “The Lord has rewarded me according to my righteousness, according to the cleanness of my hands in his sight”.  Even though David had opportunity to take things into his own hands on several occasions, he chose to let God be his protector.  God was David’s salvation, and David praises Him for it.  “For this I will praise you, O Lord, among the nations, and sing to your name”.  Are you praising God for all He has done in your life?

Leave a Reply

