Psalm 7

Psalm 7 has David expressing his confidence in God’s ability to deliver him.  “O Lord my God, in you do I take refuge; save me from all my pursuers and deliver me”.  It also includes David’s cry of anguish and fear.  The header to this Psalm refers to an attack from Cush, the Benjaminite.  This likely refers to one of Saul’s thugs who was pursuing him.  It may even be a reference to Saul himself, but whoever it refers to, David knows he is unable to handle the situation on his own. He fears grave consequences from his pursuer unless God intervenes.

David claims his innocence before God.  “O Lord my God, if I have done this, if there is wrong in my hands, if I have repaid my friend with evil or plundered my enemy without cause, let the enemy pursue my soul and overtake it, and let him trample my life to the ground and lay my glory in the dust”.  He isn’t really claiming sinless perfection, simply a difference in morality between himself and his enemies.  David admits he has taken spoils from his enemy, but it was appropriate and was not wrong as he is being accused.

David knows the judgment of the Lord is righteous and he calls on God to judge him.  “The Lord judges the peoples; judge me, O Lord, according to my righteousness and according to the integrity that is in me”.  Judgment is coming for all of us.  We need to understand that God is angry with those who are evil.  He honestly invited God’s judgment and correction.  He also asks for God’s blessing according to his righteousness, as he knew that he was in good standing with the Lord.

David has the utmost confidence in his position before the Judge of the Universe.  “My shield is with God, who saves the upright in heart. God is a righteous judge”.  David knows that God will judge him fairly.  And he pleads for God to be his judge.  We will all stand before God as judge in the future. We all have to give account for our life.  David was confident of his standing.  “I will give to the Lord the thanks due to his righteousness, and I will sing praise to the name of the Lord, the Most High”.  For us, the outcome will be dependent on what we have done about our sin – which ultimately is answered by what we’ve done with Jesus.  Christ alone is the way we address the sin problem we each have in our life.  It will only be our faith in His saving grace that will cause us to sing praise after standing before God!

Leave a Reply

