Job 27

Job 27 begins with Job continuing his discourse.  It appears that he pauses to see if his friends will reply, but they are silent so he continues.  Job appeals to God again.  And he makes it clear he isn’t going to speak negatively about God.  “As long as my breath is in me, and the spirit of God is in my nostrils, my lips will not speak falsehood, and my tongue will not utter deceit”.  Job is not going to blaspheme God.  He has shared his pain and sorrow and emotions, but at least in his mind he has not crossed the line with God.

Job clings to the belief that he is right.  “I hold fast my righteousness and will not let it go; my heart does not reproach me for any of my days”. He isn’t giving in at all.  In fact, he asks God to give them the same punishment they have said he deserves.  “Let my enemy be as the wicked, and let him who rises up against me be as the unrighteous”.  The Israelite law carries the penalty for malicious prosecution of the innocent that the punishment attached to the crime wrongly charged be put on the false accuser.  Job believes his friends should receive that for their false persecution.

Job turns from the persecuted to the teacher.  “I will teach you concerning the hand of God; what is with the Almighty I will not conceal”.  He was frustrated with the lack of understanding his friends had of God, and he offers to fill them in on the truth.  His friends claimed to know God and His ways, but they did not analyze it correctly.  So Job offers to straighten them out.  So he gives them a lesson on what the wicked man will receive.  He talks about the judgment that awaits.

Job agreed with the idea that wickedness is rewarded with judgment from God.  Job never denies the justice of God so it is not inconsistent for him to affirm it.  Job’s description of the wicked man does not resemble his circumstances at all.  The world will know and call out wickedness.  “It claps its hands at him and hisses at him from its place”.  In those days people clapped and hissed at those who acted improperly.  It was a way to show displeasure and dispose of the guilty party.

Leave a Reply

