Job 23

Job 23 has Job wishing he could take his case before God.  He is frustrated that he feels separated from God.  “Oh, that I knew where I might find him, that I might come even to his seat”.  He had found peace and help from God previously, and felt confident he could go to the throne and receive it again.  But he is struggling to find God’s face – he wants his day in court so to speak so he can be vindicated from his situation.  He is confident that if he could just get a chance to stand before God, all would be well.

You have to give Job kudos for his efforts.  “Behold, I go forward, but he is not there, and backward, but I do not perceive him; on the left hand when he is working, I do not behold him; he turns to the right hand, but I do not see him”.  Job is looking everywhere.  Even in the midst of his pain and anguish, Job is trying to find God.  This is a critical lesson for us to learn.  In the midst of chaos and crisis, when things are deep in distress, that is when we most need to seek God.  Job looks left and right and forward and backward.  One writer asked why he didn’t look up.

Job has confident in his faith and God’s righteousness.  He knows that God will find him purified by the fire.  Gold is never hurt by the fire, only the impurities removed.  Job believes in God – his faith is strong.  “He knows the way that I take; when he has tried me, I shall come out as gold”.  Spurgeon writes this about Job’s confidence:

I shall ask four questions of every man within reach of my voice. God knoweth the way that you take.

  • I will ask you first: Do you know your own way?
  • Secondly: Is it a comfort to you that God knows your way?
  • Thirdly: Are you tried in the way?
  • And, if so, fourthly: Have you confidence in God as to the result of that trial?
  • Can you say with Job, ‘When he hath tried me, I shall come forth as gold’?

Job has walked faithfully with God.  He is still defending his integrity.  “My foot has held fast to his steps; I have kept his way and have not turned aside.  I have not departed from the commandment of his lips; I have treasured the words of his mouth more than my portion of food”.  Job is insistent that he has followed God and been obedient to his Word.  And God is central to his life.  And because of that he is still confident in God.  “He will complete what he appoints for me, and many such things are in his mind”.  Job knows that God will be faithful and true to His word.  He knows he can trust God even in the midst of his situation.  That’s the confidence we can have too.  God will be true to His Word.

Leave a Reply

