Job 13

Job 13 has Job leveling the playing field with his three friends.  He makes it clear that he has heard their words and knows everything they do.  They aren’t privy to any information he doesn’t know, and certainly are not in a place to judge him.  Job wants to take his case to God Himself.  “I would speak to the Almighty, and I desire to argue my case with God”.  He has a relationship with the Almighty and wants to plead his case directly with God Himself.  God doesn’t need these three friends to speak for Him.

Job warns them to be careful of what they say – they can’t speak for God and if they try they will be held accountable.  And then he makes a statement that really defines just how deep his relationship with God really is.  “Though he slay me, I will hope in him; yet I will argue my ways to his face”.  Job still has full trust in God.  His hope is in God, not in his story or his argument or pleading.  Job knows that God is his best Friend, that God alone knows Him and has his best interest at heart.

That statement is something that is hard for most of us to get to – a trust in God so deep that even when everything around us is falling apart and our circumstances are out of control – we know that God loves us and we cling to our hope in Him.  Job knows his salvation comes from God.  There is no other source.  And now that salvation still comes from God through the shed blood of Jesus Christ on the Cross.  It is still God’s gift to us.  Our hope is still in Him alone.

Job knows that his situation is not a result of his sin.  He wants an answer to this question:  “How many are my iniquities and my sins? Make me know my transgression and my sin. Why do you hide your face and count me as your enemy”?  We tend to believe that sin is the cause of the bad things that happen in people’s lives.  But as Job suspects here – it isn’t connected at all.  He knows in his heart that something else is going on but can’t quite put his finger on what that is.  But he knows that God has a plan, and his hope remains in Him alone!

Leave a Reply

