Job 10

Job 10 is the picture of a desperate man trying to understand what is happening.  He hates his life, and wants to die.  “I loathe my life; I will give free utterance to my complaint; I will speak in the bitterness of my soul. I will say to God, Do not condemn me; let me know why you contend against me”.   Job is very unhappy and wants to let God know.  He is allowing bitterness to creep in, and asks God to explain why he is being persecuted and suffering so much.

Job continues to contend that he is blameless and has no sin or guilt.  “You seek out my iniquity and search for my sin, although you know that I am not guilty, and there is none to deliver out of your hand? Your hands fashioned and made me, and now you have destroyed me altogether”.  He reminds God that He made him and is the giver of life.  Job can’t makes sense out of his situation.  He can’t understand why God would create him only to allow this kind of destruction to strike.

Job also remembers that God not only created him, but has cared for him all his life.  “You have granted me life and steadfast love, and your care has preserved my spirit”.  God is the author and perfector of life.  He has clothed him and created him with purpose.  But Job is struggling to see how his present situation really fits all that.  It’s like God has hid the current plan away from Job’s sight, and it doesn’t compute.  Job feels overwhelmed and like he is unable to get right with God again.

Then Job returns to the questions about life.  Better to not be born than go through what he is living.  Better to die than continue to live in this agony.  Job presses God.  “Are not my days few? Then cease, and leave me alone, that I may find a little cheer”.  All he asks for is a little glimpse of cheer and hope before he leaves.   Life is not always easy.  Job demonstrates the reality of his feelings at that time, but also the truth of His living in the presence of Almighty God.  We won’t always understand – but that doesn’t change who God is or what He will do!

Leave a Reply

