2 Samuel 7

2 Samuel 7 has Nathan the prophet bringing a word from God to David.  “Go and tell my servant David, ‘Thus says the Lord: Would you build me a house to dwell in”?  Seems like a strange request.  But since the time of the exile from Egypt, God has been living in a tent leading His people to the promised land.  God through Nathan says “I have not lived in a house since the day I brought up the people of Israel from Egypt to this day, but I have been moving about in a tent for my dwelling”.  God desires a house built from cedar that can be a permanent house.

Nathan is directed to remind David of all the things God has done for him.  “You shall say to my servant David”:

  • “I took you from the pasture….that you should be prince
  • I have been with you….and have cut off all your enemies
  • I will make for you a great name
  • I will appoint a place for my people Israel and will plant them
  • I will give you rest from all your enemies
  • I will raise up your offspring
  • I will establish his kingdom
  • I will establish the throne of his kingdom forever
  • I will be to him a father
  • I will discipline him with the rod….my steadfast love will not depart from him

And your house and your kingdom shall be made sure forever before me. Your throne shall be established forever

What a list of promises God has given to David about the past, present and future.  David is overwhelmed and asks “what more can David say to you? For you know your servant, O Lord God”!  David and the Father are connected.  David knows the living God, the same God that Abraham, Isaac and Jacob worshipped and it is the exact same God that we worship today.  David says “you are great, O Lord God. For there is none like you, and there is no God besides you”.  David gets it right.  There is one true God and he knows Him.

David reminds us of the special place the people of Israel have in God’s heart.  “Who is like your people Israel, the one nation on earth whom God went to redeem to be his people, making himself a name and doing for them great and awesome things by driving out before your people, whom you redeemed for yourself from Egypt”.  God has selected this people to be His very own.  And has established a covenant for eternity with them.  We must not forget that.  “O Lord God, you are God, and your words are true, and you have promised this good thing to your servant”.

One response to this post.

  1. […] 2 Samuel 7 (asorensen.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

