Leviticus 26

Leviticus 26 lays out some clarity about our relationship with God.  He has expectations.  And those carry requirements that when violated will lead to punishment.  Sin always carries a price.  We tend to focus on the forgiving grace of Christ on the Cross, which is true and valid, but it doesn’t negate the penalty of sin.  This chapter talks about how important obedience is to God.  It is not optional.  And the foundation of that requirement is that we realize and live like God is God alone.  There is no other.  And we must not have any idols in our patch or lives.  God alone is whe He says.  He alone is worthy of our worship and praise.

Here is the first reality God gives.  “If you walk in my statutes and observe my commandments and do them, then I will give you your rains in their season, and the land shall yield its increase”.  Obedience brings blessing.  He gives a few more results of obedience:

  1. “I will give peace in the land, and you shall lie down, and none shall make you afraid
  2. I will make my dwelling among you
  3. I will walk among you and will be your God, and you shall be my people

Truth is God wants a relationship with us, and that is based not only on His covenant, but on our response.  We have to make sure He alone is our God.

 

When we stay focused on God and who He is and what He has done, we tend to walk in obedience.  When we allow the focus to be on self and what we want we tend to fall away and do whatever we want.  The fact is, God has always been faithful.  “I am the Lord your God, who brought you out of the land of Egypt, that you should not be their slaves. And I have broken the bars of your yoke and made you walk erect”.  We need to stay focused on that reality.  God is who He says and does what He says He will do.  He alone sets us free and fulfills what He has promised.

The second reality is that sometimes we make bad choices.  Disobedience carries a price tag.  “But if you will not listen to me and will not do all these commandments, if you spurn my statutes, and if your soul abhors my rules, so that you will not do all my commandments, but break my covenant, then I will do this to you”:

  1. “I will visit you with panic
  2. I will set my face against you
  3. I will discipline you
  4. I will continue striking you
  5. I will let loose the wild beasts against you

The third reality is that when we continue to make bad choices, even after God begins to punish us, it goes from bad to worse.  “And if by this discipline you are not turned to me but walk contrary to me, then I also will walk contrary to you, and I myself will strike you sevenfold for your sins….I will bring a sword upon you….I break your supply of bread….I will walk contrary to you in fury….I myself will discipline you….I will destroy your high places….I will lay your cities waste….I will not smell your pleasing aromas….I myself will devastate the land….I will scatter you among the nations….I will unsheathe the sword after you….I will send faintness into their hearts”.  If you ever wondered if God really cares about obedience – this should make it pretty clear.  He does.  It is not optional.  He will get our attention.

That brings us to the fourth and final reality.  Even after all this disobedience, God’s desire is still to restore us to a right relationship with Him.  “But if they confess their iniquity….if then their uncircumcised heart is humbled and they make amends for their iniquity, then I will remember my covenant….and I will remember the land….that I might be their God”.  At the end of the day God wants to be our God.  So He makes a way for us to come back to Him even after our sinful behavior and selfish living.  Today that forgiveness is offered to you and me through Jesus Christ.  Same process occurs.  We have to admit our need of a Savior, confess our sin, repent and turn to go the other way, and walk with Jesus.  But God has always been most concerned about our relationship with Him.  That is His number one desire.  Are you walking that way, or have you let disobedience get in the way.  If so, time to confess and repent and turn around and run to God!

Leave a Reply

