Leviticus 7

Leviticus 7 continues the discussion between God and Moses around the offerings.  There were five main offerings that were listed in the Old Testament, and a few others as well.  Each had very specific instructions on:

  • what was to be offered
  • the purpose of the offering
  • God’s portion of the offering
  • The priest’s portion
  • The person bringing the sacrifice portion

In this chapter we get a bit more clarity around the guilt (or trespass) offering and the peace offering.

The list gets defined at the end of the chapter when it says “This is the law of the burnt offering, of the grain offering, of the sin offering, of the guilt offering, of the ordination offering, and of the peace offering, which the Lord commanded Moses on Mount Sinai, on the day that he commanded the people of Israel to bring their offerings to the Lord”.  Here we see six different offerings listed, but the ordination offering was not an ongoing offering but rather for a specific purpose.

So the five main offerings were:

  1. Burnt offering
  2. Grain offering
  3. Peace offering
  4. Sin offering
  5. Guilt offering

The first three were voluntary acts of worship.  The last two were mandatory to atone for sin and restitution.

There were times when more than one kind of offering was presented and the procedure was usually as follows:

  • First was the sin offering or guilt offering
  • Next followed the burnt offering
  • And finally a peace offering and grain offering

This sequence gives us a picture of the spiritual significance of the sacrificial system. First, sin had to be dealt with (sin offering or guilt offering). Second, the worshiper committed himself completely to God (burnt offering and grain offering). Third, fellowship or communion between the Lord, the priest and the worshiper (peace offering) was established. To look at it another way, there were sacrifices for sin (sin offerings and trespass offerings), sacrifices that were an act of worship to show commitment to God (burnt offerings and grain offerings) and sacrifices of thanksgiving and fellowship done in a communal way (peace offerings).  All of these were to put people in right relationship with God.  Today Jesus has removed the requirement for us to continue the sacrificial system – but we still have the need to deal with sin and be right in our relationship with God.  We just do it through the blood of Christ and our direct access to God through Him.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: