John 14:15-31

John 14:15-31 has Jesus talking with His disciples about the last instructions He has for them.  He makes it clear what it means to truly love Him.  “If you love me, show it by doing what I’ve told you”.  Loving Christ means we live in obedience to His words.  There is more to being a Christ Follower than faith and belief in Him.  The word follower really helps define what that looks like.  It means we listen to God’s Word, we understand what it means, and we walk in obedience to it.  Not complex or difficult to understand, but also not simple and easy to do.

Jesus went on to tell them “I will talk to the Father, and he’ll provide you another Friend so that you will always have someone with you….the Spirit of Truth”.  Jesus was trying to help them understand that He was going to be crucified, but that the Holy Spirit would be there to be with us.  When we become a Christ Follower, the Holy Spirit moves in and takes up residence in our heart.  We will never be alone again.  We move into a relationship with the Holy Spirit who will never leave us.

The person who knows my commandments and keeps them, that’s who loves me. And the person who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I will love him and make myself plain to him”.  Jesus reinforces that obedience is how we demonstrate our love for Him.  And obedience also manifests itself in being loved by the Father in return.  Obedience is such an important part of our walk with Jesus.  “If anyone loves me, he will carefully keep my word and my Father will love him–we’ll move right into the neighborhood”.  Obedience opens the door to creating an eternal relationship with the Holy Spirit moving in.

Not loving me means not keeping my words”.  Disobedience shows that we don’t love Christ.  It is a key indicator of our walk with Jesus.  He has told His disciples all these things so they could know what was to come and be able to have their faith grown as a result.  “I’ve told you this ahead of time, before it happens, so that when it does happen, the confirmation will deepen your belief in me”.  We can have our faith increased and deepened by reading what Scripture says about Jesus, and realizing that it all came true.  Jesus is the way.  We need to walk in obedience with Him!

Leave a Reply

