John 14:1-14

John 14:1-14 has some powerful truths that we need to memorize.  Jesus starts with this question.  “You trust God, don’t you? Trust me”.  If we trust God then we need to also trust Jesus.  They are One and our faith brings us into relationship with Christ and the Trinity.  Jesus gives us a promise of preparing our eternal home if we have faith.  “There is plenty of room for you in my Father’s home. If that weren’t so, would I have told you that I’m on my way to get a room ready for you”?

Jesus has already prepared our eternal home.  He has made the preparation.  “And if I’m on my way to get your room ready, I’ll come back and get you so you can live where I live”.  And He promises that He not only has prepared, but that He will come again to bring us to that place to spend eternity with Him.  He has done the work.  He has prepared with us in mind.  All we have to do is believe.  And Jesus makes a promise and qualifies how we get eternal life about as clearly as it can be done in verse 6.

I am the Road, also the Truth, also the Life. No one gets to the Father apart from me”.  It doesn’t get much clearer than that.  Jesus is the Way.  He is the Truth.  He is the Life.  He is not a way, some truth, or part of life.  He is the whole deal. The entire enchilada. The one and only way.  And he makes that very clear when He tells us “No one gets to the Father apart from me”.  He isn’t part of the way to get to God and eternity.  He is the only way.  He is our one and only solution to the sin problem we have.  And we need to cling to Him.

He reminds us “The words that I speak to you aren’t mere words. I don’t just make them up on my own. The Father who resides in me crafts each word into a divine act”.  Jesus didn’t make this up.  It was God’s plan.  He is God’s way.  And when we bring our trust and belief to Christ, we not only receive salvation and eternal life, we also are empowered.  “The person who trusts me will not only do what I’m doing but even greater things, because I, on my way to the Father, am giving you the same work to do that I’ve been doing. You can count on it”.  Jesus not only saves us, He empowers us with far more than we can ever expect.  He promises us power.  He offers us eternity and the ability to do the things He does.

Leave a Reply

