Psalm 27

Psalm 27 is a clinic on how we should relate to God.  David begins with two powerful statements that describe how we should see God:

–       “The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear

–       The Lord is the stronghold of my life; of whom shall I be afraid

Those two statements define the relationship between God and David.  Light, salvation, stronghold – God is central and center of everything in David’s world.  God is protector, director, and emancipator.  He is all to David.

David has a desire and a focus in his life.  “One thing have I asked of the Lord, that will I seek after”.  He has it pretty well boiled down.  It is this: “that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the Lord and to inquire in his temple”.  David’s desire is not money or fame.  It isn’t stuff.  It is to be with God.  It is to live with Him.  It is to be in the presence of the Almighty.  David knows that if he can be blessed with this one request – everything else falls in place.  If our relationship with God is right – nothing else matters!

Here is a short list of things David says will happen IF he is with God:

–       “hide me in his shelter in the day of trouble

–       conceal me under the cover of his tent

–       lift me high upon a rock

–       my head shall be lifted up above my enemies

Not a bad set of outcomes.  With relationship comes benefits of being with God.  It is good stuff.  It is the important stuff.  David knows what really matters and it is a personal relationship with God.

But what happens next?  David reminds us that when we have that relationship, it isn’t just for us to keep quiet.  “I will offer in his tent sacrifices with shouts of joy; I will sing and make melody to the Lord”.  We need to shout it from the mountaintops.  We need to let people know that we are His.  And we need to keep seeking.  David reminds us that God says “Seek my face”.  Far too often we spend our time seeking God’s hands and the stuff He can do for us.  We need to focus on His face – on the relationship.  That is what matters.  David goes on to ask “Teach me your way, O Lord, and lead me on a level path”.  We need to seek God’s wisdom and counsel.  We need to learn from Him.  And then David reminds us of one other important thing:  “Wait for the Lord; be strong, and let your heart take courage”.  We need to wait for His time.  We aren’t necessarily very good at that.  We want to do it our way and have it done right now.  That is not God’s way.  We need to let God be God and we need to focus on the relationship with Him!

Leave a Reply

